top of page
  • Luke LUBO4930

Brainstorm Blog #2: Soundscape

For our second project this semester, I wanted to create a unique sound using a variety of everyday sounds. I plan on doing this by first picking the sound that stands out to me the most. This sound will act as a 'hook' if you will, that attracts the listener and intrigues them to listen to the whole piece. I have not yet solidified what this sound will be, but perhaps it could be a lighter flickering, a crackling fire, or even the sound of birds in the morning. I want it to be a familiar and soothing sound that creates a soft and quiet entrance to the rest of the sounds. I then wanted to use other sounds that are soothing to the ear in conjunction to create what will be the metaphorical 'chorus.' This sound will be repeated throughout the song and create a sense of uniformity. The use of repetition will allow the listener to relate more to the song and view the sounds as one whole piece as opposed to a bunch of noises mixed together. I also wanted to use soundbites that you would encounter in an everyday routine. This way listeners will resonate with these sounds and understand how the noises we take in every day can be used to create a coherent piece of music. I want to label this song "A day in the Life of your Ears" so that the use of very routine sounds is put together to create a narrative told solely through sound.




About Me

IMG_4511.jpeg

I'm a student at the University of Colorado in Boulder with an avid appreciation for all things art. Throughout my time in Boulder, I've tried to build upon my relationship with art. Recently, I've found myself immersing myself in everyday art, specifically through photography. I've begun to find beauty in the mundanity of everyday landscapes.

Posts Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page