top of page
  • Luke LUBO4930

Brainstorm Blog #1: Faux Selfies

Brainstorm Blog #1: Faux Selfies


For my faux selfies project, I wanted to create a personality that emulates some of my favorite characters throughout the media. I personally find that I relate to the cynical nihilist archetype of character. My character will be a human male, modeled after a com I often find that the development of such characters is more emotional and meaningful. You know how they act but are not fully aware of why they choose to act in such a manner. This element of mystery within knowledge is what I am looking for. A character whose appearance details how they feel emotionally yet does not reveal why they are in such a state.

I plan to use a cool color scheme, utilizing different shades of blue, green, purple, etc. The colors are important in expressing the emotion behind the personality. Another element I will use to convey emotion is perspective. The character will be shown from different perspectives that could each relate to a new emotion or feeling he is experiencing. I want to also include symbols that give clues as to why the character is the way he is. These symbols may explain why this character is cynical or depressed. I want to keep a sense of mystery around the character while also delving into the character’s past.

I’m not 100% sure yet, but I want to adhere to a renaissance theme where each selfie is not a modern selfie but more closely related to a modern take on renaissance self-portraits. I feel like this could play into the idea I have for my character. The regal and stoic look will be helpful in creating a coherent series of photos.




About Me

IMG_4511.jpeg

I'm a student at the University of Colorado in Boulder with an avid appreciation for all things art. Throughout my time in Boulder, I've tried to build upon my relationship with art. Recently, I've found myself immersing myself in everyday art, specifically through photography. I've begun to find beauty in the mundanity of everyday landscapes.

Posts Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page